Can you guess our favorite part of this cake  😀  We simply had to try it because I loooove heritage recipes that have come down through generations…I figure there is a reason you know?  This came from Mary over at Hope Echoes–she made a special point to get us all the recipe after putting the cake name in her “Where I’m From”.  I only had to accuse her of being a cake-tease the once too!  I was going to do a big long picture-full post about it but meh–I think a few will do donchoo??

Let’s git started-the sooner we begin the sooner we can taste it!

cake earth 020

Prop recipe card in corner of well-loved pan for an artsy picture–thanks Laurel!

cake earth 021

Dry ingredients…

cake earth 023

Mixing in the wet…mmmmmm

We did leave out the red coloring…NOT a big fan of colored-for-the-sake-of-making-it-red red things here–If we eat it and it’s red–GOD made it red!  😛  Kinda hard to call it Red Earth Cake I suppose but I remain unmoved and it’s MY kitchen after all.

Then I put nuts on top of it and big marshmallows cut into quarters anad my fingers were all marshmallow sticky and it was Sunday morning and I wanted it ready in time to take to potluck so no pics of the big yummy mallows and nuts–I did snap a couple AFTER a poured on the hot drippy icing that ga-LUES them to the top of the cake.

cake earth 024

FUDGEY!!

cake earth 027

The verdict?  I think my Baking Soda may be a bit flat-it didn’t rise as much as I would have liked-a bit dry and dense but I will try again for sure–the frosting was glorious and easy too–or as Mary likes to say (in my comments no less) “Easy Peasy Lemon Squeezy”  The coffee in this chocolate cake makes it very nice indeed!

 

THANKS MARY!!