Submitted for your approval: proof that beauty is born of adversity. This glass was incredibly cheap and used by companies to promote sales of everything from flour to animal feed-even movie theatre attendance! These are my personal collection-the glass came in hundreds of colors and patterns-these are some I think are pretty. Some are inherited and some I have gathered piece by piece from differing places along the years. So cheap when made it was practically disposable-now sought after a great deal. Some patterns have been copied so long that the copies themselves have a high value!

This pattern is called “horseshoe” I have a small set in yellow and in green. The candy dish is the only piece they made in pink. The grill plates (with dividers) in yellow were thought to be lost to the years-the definitive book on depression glass and it’s value said so–until MY DAD found some-he had to show them to the author and the book was changed! I now have 4 of the 6 existing grills AND both versions of the book! 8)

This is Royal Ruby–some of the pieces are in differing patterns-this is a large set of 12–looking at it in the last picture makes me a little embarrassed that I put the coffee cups beside the punch bowl and the punch cups on a different shelf-how uncouth! πŸ˜† This has been copied a lot–the Avon company also made red glassware for a number of years and it gets confused with Royal Ruby. Both are collectible -even the newer Avon copies. Anchor also made beer bottles which I am looking for-one with the label still on-most are peeled and were used as vases and oil cruets etc (it WAS the depression remember!)

NOW my pink! I have 2 sets: pink cherry blossom (which I have given to Lily)

AND…Miss America (which I have given to Laurel)

Since both of these sets came to me by way of different Grandmothers I thought they were perfect to pass down. Cherry blossom came in green as well and the Miss America was made in clear glass as well. It is so fun scouring flea markets and antique stores with my girls and having them notice “their” sets!

Also collectible from that time period is glassware that was sold instead of given away-such as Fostoria, and Elegant. I have some really exquisit sherbet dishes and a relish tray in “Rosepoint” that was my Great-grandmaother’s.

I also sometimes buy things that are pretty and a really great deal-without starting another set πŸ˜€

They had some painted things too:

These are called Swanky Swigs-little glasses that cheese spread and jelly etc were sold in. Mine are the children’s designs. They had all sorts.

Last I want to show you is Royal Lace in BLUE. This set was my Dad’s pride and joy (so-to-speak)–My brother Kevin has it–I have the chipped sugar bowl that my Dad kept on his stove with pizza coupons in it πŸ˜€ It is a lovely color!

The salt and pepper shakers are Hoosier shakers that Dad used daily as well. See the huge chip? That my friend is the difference between my sugar bowl and my brother’s very expensive one in mint condition with flawless lid.

There you have it…a crash course in what Depression-Era glass looks like. If you decide to start collecting may I suggest one thing? Learn to say “That’s OK-I wasn’t going to take it to heaven with me anyway” before you start. Because accidents DO happen and perspective is EVERYTHING.

